skip to Main Content

The library will be closed on Thursday, November 22 & Friday, November 23.

Hours of Operation

Monday: 9 am – 9 pm
Tuesday: 9 am – 9 pm
Wednesday: 9 am – 9 pm
Thursday: 9 am – 9 pm
Friday: 9 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 9 am – 5 pm
Sunday: 1 pm – 5 pm

2018 Closing Dates

2018
Thanksgiving Eve: Wednesday, November 21*
Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, November 22
Thanksgiving Weekend: Friday, November 23
Christmas Eve: Monday, December 24
Christmas Day: Tuesday, December 25
New Year’s Eve: Monday, December 31

2019
New Year’s Day: Tuesday, January 1
In-Service Day: Friday, April 5
Spring Break: Sunday, April 21
Memorial Day Sunday: Sunday, May 26
Memorial Day: Monday, May 27
Independence Day: Thursday, July 4
Labor Day Sunday: Sunday, September 1
Labor Day: Sunday, September 2
In-Service Day: Friday, October 4
Thanksgiving Eve: Wednesday, November 27*
Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, November 28
Thanksgiving Weekend: Friday, November 29
Christmas Eve: Monday, December 24
Christmas Day: Tuesday, December 25
New Year’s Eve: Monday, December 31
New Year’s Day: Tuesday, January 1

* Library will close at 5 pm.

Location

Directions

If You’re Driving
Eastbound on the Eisenhower Expressway (I-290), take the Des Plaines Avenue exit. Turn left at the end of the ramp, and the library is about 1.5 blocks ahead, on the right hand side of the intersection of Des Plaines and Jackson Boulevard.

Westbound on the Eisenhower Expressway (I-290), take the Harlem Avenue exit. Turn right at the end of the ramp, then make an immediate left on to Jackson Boulevard. The library is about three blocks ahead, on the right hand side of the intersection of Jackson and Des Plaines.

Get directions to the library.

Parking
There is limited off-street parking available to library patrons. Library patrons can park on the street under normal rules administered by the Police Department. Limited parking is available in the municipal lot directly across Des Plaines Avenue from the library’s front entrance. Spaces with a blue topped meter need to be fed on the same schedule as other metered spaces in the lot.

The library also has two handicapped parking spaces against the south side of the building. These are accessible by entering the alley off Jackson Boulevard immediately to the east of the intersection of Jackson Boulevard and Des Plaines Avenue.

The curb cutout on the south side of the building is limited to 15 minute parking, and is intended for quick “in and out” business in the library.

Public Transportation
PACE bus route 391 stops right across the street from the library, at Jackson and Des Plaines. The library is also just a short walk north of the Forest Park Transit Center, served by PACE bus routes 17, 301, 303, 305, 308, 310, 317, 320, 747, 757, and 767. The Transit Center is also the final stop on the Forest Park branch of the Blue Line “L” train.